Days that Flex

Ahhhhh… The joy of working for the federal government means I can work for flex days! It does mean that I have to work a little extra everyday; however, it is brilliant when that 4th week comes around and I get a Tuesday off! 

So….what to do on a flex day? Bake and cook!!! And watch a movie.  It was wonderful.  If you haven’t seen Still Alice, I highly recommend it!  Alzheimer’s must be a very frustrating disorder to live with. The way the story is told gives a personal account of what it is like to live day to day with this horrible disease. 

So the baking started with chocolate chip banana mini loaves!  This recipe has been in my family for years! My mom used to make two loaves and freeze one.  It is one of Dave’s favourites, so he was very happy when he got home! (PS Dave said these were the best ever…. Sweet!!) 

  
Next I decided to try a new recipe from Jamie Oliver… Breakfast bites. So good! I omitted the chilli and added ham 🙂 BIG LESSON LEARNED: GREASE YOUR PAPER CUPS! Ya, they look beautiful but the paper sticks to the sides and you can’t eat the whole muffin unless you enjoy eating paper! The secret ingredient in these is butternut squash !

   
  

  
Yummmmmmm
Lastly, I decided to make Toad in the Hole for dinner! ( thank you again to Mr Jamie Oliver) It’s getting to that time of year where you want comfort food.  For y’all whom are North American, this is a British classic! Basically it is sausages in one giant Yorkshire pudding! It didn’t rise as much as I wanted it to, but it sure was yummm!

  

So my flex day was awesome. It gave me time to reflect n my and at makes me happy. 

Do things that make you happy, we only have this one life to live! (Well the only one we can remember 😎)
If you had a flex day…. What would you do with it?

Leave a Reply

