That pesky butterfly

Well hello!

So, I am going to start by saying I have never been a gym person! There I said it!  But coming to the realisation that I need to work at this loosing weight/toning thing.  For most of my life, I never had to worry about my weight.  Yes I am blessed and humbled by this (in retrospect!).  I couldn’t gain weight as a teen or young adult and I was constantly being asked if I was anorexic!  HA HA HA HA!  I could out eat most of the guys in my class PLUS eat desert and nothing stuck. (Again very blessed).  I was active.  Dancing at least 5 times a week and I walked to school (30 min return).  As I headed to university, I was less active, yet still didn’t put on the pounds till I hit 25 ish.  THEN watch out!  I think that’s when my Thyroid went haywire.  It was the start of my paranoia and constant crying.  I was tired all the time and I just didn’t want to do anything.  On a positive note, I went up 3 bra cup sizes and got me some hips!  Finally, when I was around 34 my doctor diagnosed me with Hypothyroidism.  My thyroid was just working too hard so I went on to levothyroxine. I noticed a change within a month! Amazing.

Having hypothyroidism means a few things. I need to watch what I eat in terms of the cabbage family of foods….which sucks cause I recently discovered kale! Plus I need to work out more to keep a healthy weight.

I need to take my meds regularly! I didn’t think they were making a big deal…. But now that I take them everyday at the same time on an empty stomach… Well what do you know, they really work!

So I am attempting to go to the gym 2 days a week and ride my bike home from work (8km)! I know I can do this! I just need to stay motivated!

  
This little guy helps me get through! As does this guy, who says he’s proud of me  


And buys me flowers  

  

Life is good! Let’s live it!

Leave a Reply

